Heparin in an emergency-to draw PTT or not?

Specialties Med-Surg

Published

Specializes in Med Surg/Tele/Ortho/Psych.

In a semi emergency situation and a surgeon asks you to give 5000u IVP and then hang 1000u/hr of Heparin, but did not order to to get a PTT, do you normally get one anyone? He did not order a heparin protocol? I am new to med surg and I hear several seasoned nurses saying different things. I am not sure. I think next time I will ask the dr. if he wants a PTT. However, it seemed to be an emergency situation.

:idea: I wanted to add that a 6 hr. post was ordered, but I am referring to the pre Ptt
Specializes in Hemodialysis, Home Health.

Dang... I'd sure want one, (a pre) ..wouldn't you? Perhaps an oversight on his/her part? Do you have a standing order for these perhaps in your unit P&P manual? Might be a good idea to get something written on situations such as these.

hmmmmmmmmmmmm..................

then again if it's an "emergency".... dunno. Can't wait to hear what the others would say. :)

draw it. most docs will sign the verbal. good base line.

Specializes in Surgical.

Our surgeons wouldnt give a rip what the ptt started out they would only want to change rate based on 6 hour ptt. Too late to get a baseline if you've already pushed the bolus. Some docs would be ticked that you took the time to draw a lab for baseline that wasnt ordered when the clinical picture must obviously show this pt is not anti-coagulated enough or else it wouldn't be an emergency to get the heparin going.

Specializes in A little of this, a little of that.....

There should be a Protocol for a PTT to be drwn before any Heparin. What about people who are on long term ASA therapy?

'Mac'

Specializes in Surgical.