Tips for Geriatric and LTC Nursing

I have worked in Geriatric/LTC nursing for over 20 years. The same scenario has played out hundreds of times in my career. It goes something like this: I meet a new person who asks me what I do for a living. I tell them I am a nurse. They are impressed and ask which hospital I work at. I tell them that I actually work at a nursing home. As I watch their face it is usually always the same. The expression changes from awe and wonder to disappointment and sometimes disgust. Nurses Announcements Archive Article

Tips for Geriatric and LTC Nursing

It is as if being a nurse is an admirable thing that one should be proud of unless you are a LTC nurse, in which case, you are not a "real nurse" because you don't work in a hospital. Many times, not knowing what to say, they will simply reply, "I could never do that." I have to bite my tongue at this point because I want to say to them that I agree, they probably could never do that.

Usually, this is the end of the conversation because many people have the belief that you are a nursing home nurse because you are not "smart enough" or "energetic enough" to work in a hospital. However, there are other times when this is not the end of the conversation and someone will ask you why you work in a nursing home. It took me asking myself that question and really thinking about it to come up with the answers that people needed to hear.

There is so much to learn in a nursing home! A lot of nursing homes are free standing and have to contract services. This means that the everyday services that the hospital nurses are calling upon ancillary staff to deal with, the nursing home nurses are having to learn and experience themselves.