Hospitals SUCK at orientation!!

Nurses New Nurse

Published

I'm sorry, but this needs to be said. I hope there are some nursng management types reading this:

I graduated from nursing school last August. I went to one job and the experience was so horrible I found another position on a more med surg type floor in one of the so-called "Top 50" hospitals in the nation. Now, granted, this position seemed to come with a better orientation process and they at least try to orient us in some ways with special classes and pull outs, but it still SUCKS.

Hospitals, administrators -- you are failing at orienting us. Just look at the unhappy posts here by dozens of new grads. The typical experience seems to be: You walk on the unit your first day, no one is expecting you, none of the other nurses bother to introduce themselves or welcome you (they usually think you're a travelor or a float nurse), you are given an "official" preceptor, but then in the following weeks, you may never see this official preceptor again. You then follow ten different nurses who do things ten different ways, and in total, have about 30 different personalities between them all. :uhoh3:

You are left to flounder around for hours on the floor, and if you attempt to ask your Preceptor of the Day a question, you get the look and that attitude that you are just plain stupid and how dare you even ask such a question because, well, "you should know that by now," or some other such comment. Many times you are treated with outright hostility when you are just an honest person trying to do an honest job, and busting your butt in the process.