Long term care nursing

Specialties Geriatric

Published

Specializes in Med/Surg; Critical Care/ ED.

I got a call out of the blue from a nursing home I submitted an app to months ago. At the time they had no day positions, but now they have 2 available. I have never nursed in long term care and am wondering if someone can fill me in a little bit on what a typical day would be in a nursing home. Also, I currently work in a hospital and am wondering if the pay is comparable. Can anybody fill me in? My interview is tomorrow afternoon.

Thanks!

Specializes in Geriatrics/Oncology/Psych/College Health.

First thing I would ask *them* is how it happens that they have 2 day shift positions open at the same time ;).

As far as typical day, I'll leave that to the current LTC nurses. I'll scoot this into that forum so they can assist.

Specializes in LTC, assisted living, med-surg, psych.

LTC pay, at least in my neck of the woods, is typically at least $5-8/hr LESS than in the hospital.

I agree with Nurse Ratched, above.....you'll want to find out why this facility has 2 day-shift positions open before you accept one of them. Trust me.....you probably won't like the answer. :stone