What would lab values be for an MI?

Nursing Students Student Assist

Published

Specializes in med/surg/tele/neuro/rehab/corrections.

If a person is having a heart attack would it show up in lab values?

I was thinking maybe platelets would be off? not sure. hmmmm I'm still in my first semester of school.

Tomorrow I have to pretend I'm having chest pains and my partner has to assess me so I thought I would provide some lab values (to give a clue as to my condition) but I don't know what.

I"m thinking chest pain should pretty much say what's going on but I would like to provide other evidence. :monkeydance:

Plus now I am really curious. My dad had three heart attacks.

Thanks for any info. Gosh I"m curious now. :)

Specializes in Med-Surg, ICU.

Your troponin I may be elevated (I've seen as high as into the 100s), CK and CK-MBs would be high. Of course you may have some EKG changes such as ST elevation or bundle branch block.

Having an MI wouldn't affect your platelets tho.

Hope this helps a little...

Thanks for the reply! I googled troponin and got a lot of good info! Thanks for pointing me in the right direction. ;)

Specializes in med/surg, telemetry, IV therapy, mgmt.

Your should describe your chest pain as burning, squeezing or as a crushing sensation over the front of your chest. It can radiate to your left arm, neck, jaw or shoulder. You can also say that you just just did some physical exertion, had an emotional shock or a large meal. That you took nitroglycerine and the pain did not subside. Rest does not reduce the pain of an MI. Labwork will show elevated CK and CK-MB isoenzymes, troponins T and I and myoglobin. An EKG may show ischemia. The type of changes in the EKG will indicate the location of the MI in the heart.