Starting in Aug. 06

Nursing Students Student Assist

Published

I just got the letter Monday, that offers me to start in Aug. 06. Now, what should I do in preparation? I am reviewing anatomy and physiology. It's been 2 years since I had microbiology. I am also studying dosaging. Is there anything I can use or should do? What is intro to nursing process entail?

Congratulations on being accepted:smiley_aa

Depending on the nature of your nursing program (they all vary) your introductory nursing courses will probably introduce you to communication skills (how to talk to your patient), all the different types of nurses (community nurse, home care nurse etc)......some basic assessment skills like taking blood pressure, vital signs, resp, cardio etc, bed baths (ugh).

Reviewing your doseage calc's is a good idea, that is what I did and it certainly helped. You will be having to do a ton of research most likely and class presentations, and lots and lots and lots of reading!!. I was never ever able to read everything.

Anatomy review is always good, I did not find I had to know too much of that in first year, but then my program was pretty basic during first year. Lots of nursing theory, Florence Nightingale and all the "models" of nursing which I found so dry and boring, you will probably be doing all your research papers and assignments using APA so I would strongly suggest if you have no idea what that is, to learn it now or review it if you have time. Our class had no idea we would have to use APA and it sent everyone over the brink having to learn it.

While you have some free time, make sure you have a comfortable, quiet place in the home in which to study and keep all your stuff. I found it better having my own space where I could keep all my tons of paper, assignments and textbooks without anyone disturbing them.