CLEP Chemistry

Nursing Students Online Learning

Published

Specializes in Trauma,ER,CCU/OHU/Nsg Ed/Nsg Research.

Hi all,

I am seriously considering CLEPping Chemistry for my RN-BSN program, due to scheduling hassles. Has anyone here CLEPped this one? I've CLEPped Soc, Bio, and Lit before, so I'm familiar/comfortable with the format, but I'm pretty sure Chem will be more challenging. I do have my husband's college Chem. textbook from when he took it a few years ago, so that helps a lot.

So, if you've taken this exam before:

1.) How did it compare with the other CLEPs you took?

2.) How long did you study before you took the exam?

3.) What study materials did you use, other than a textbook?

I have almost 30 of CLEP credit. I had taken CHEM in college, but it had 'aged out', so I took the CLEP to prove myself.

1.) How did it compare with the other CLEPs you took?
It was harder than the other classes I CLEPed.

2.) How long did you study before you took the exam?
I studied for 2 months about 35-45 hours.

3.) What study materials did you use, other than a textbook?
Believe it on not I still had my old high school chemisty notes. I took 'O' and 'A' levels in the UK education system to those notes were very comprehensive. I also used my freshman college chem notes and a friend's notes from a semester earlier. I also used the Standared Deviant tapes and two new college chemistry texts I found in the library. The Standard Deviant tapes were entertaining and helped me reinforce stuff I knew.

I matched up the notes with the test outline on the College Board website.

I think you will do great because you have experience with the format.

Thanks Sunnyjohn- I appreciate the useful info. I think I'm going to go for it.

Specializes in Cardiac Care.

I have a stupid question. It's off-topic, but somewhat related. I hope you don't mind.

How exactly does CLEPping a test/course work?