Quitting before orientation

Nurses Career Support

Published

Hello nurses! I'm a new grad and I really need advice here: I accepted a per diem job 2 months ago, but I have yet to start orientation. I did not sign any job offer letter, but I already completed a background check. I just assumed I'll sign one during orientation or something. Anyway, the background check took a while - about 4 weeks. During that waiting period, I went to an interview at a hospital and they offered me a full-time position 2 and a half weeks later. I accepted it because I need a full-time job with a regular schedule and it is much closer to where I live. The per diem job is at a sub-acute rehab and is 17 miles away from home. The reason why I initially accepted it was because I really needed a job back then and I wasn't sure if any of the places I applied to would ask me for an interview. The hospital job called me much later, but I am choosing it since it is much more practical for my situation right now.

My orientation in that per diem job is next week and as much as I want to keep it, I want to focus at only one job at a time. I just feel kinda guilty and bad since they already did a background check on me and everything and they were nice people. I'm thinking of sending them a long-ass email to inform them that I'm rescinding my application, declining the offer, and that I'm not attending the orientation. Or, should I go to the orientation and speak to the supervisor or manager. Is it appropriate to mention that I accepted another offer or can I be vague and just say "due to personal reasons...." in either my letter or meeting?

Thank you! Any advice will be appreciated!

TriciaJ, RN

4,328 Posts

Specializes in Psych, Corrections, Med-Surg, Ambulatory.