Leaving the bedside

Nurses Career Support

Published

Hey guys! I've been a long time lurker, and this is actually my first post. For the sake of discretion, I made a "throw away" account. Hopefully this post is in the right place. I have read so many threads about people trying to decide if they were ready to leave the bedside and still struggle with what I want to do. I guess I just needed to get this off of my chest and wanted to seek advice from non-biased parties (IE:not my mom. Who is a saint and pretty much my therapist & also a devout CC nurse).

I have been a critical care nurse for 3 years, I have my CCRN and I am certified in my specialty. I take sick patients, I am trusted and have the respect of my colleagues. I trust & respect my colleagues as well, and never worry about having help from my neighbor. Our staff is awesome, our unit is ALWAYS well staffed, we have great support from the charge nurses and supervisors and I really can't complain about much. I am truly blessed to be on this unit. I feel like I can go be competent, do my job and help my patients. I learn something new every time I am there.

But I am tired. I am so so tired. I have gone through periods before where I just don't want to go to work (who doesn't?) but I am at the point now where I've felt dread about going to work for about 3 months. It usually goes away but it has just been so persistent. I took a girls trip this weekend just to get away and came back feeling worse than before.

My husband works a normal 9-5 and I work pretty much every other weekend which is how I set up my schedule and puts me at the required 7 weekend shifts per 6 week scheduling. It works out well because I work Thur/Fri/Sat, off sun/mon, ON Tue/wed/thur. This gives me 6 days off every other week (which I highly recommend for those on night shift).