Care Plan/Nursing Dx assistance please!!

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Specializes in Infertility, Reproductive Endocrinology.

I am in some major need of assistance. I am a first semester LPN student and am having difficulties in prioritizing my nursing dx in order to get my care plan going. I don't have any trouble coming up with the nursing dx ( I can usually find more than enough). My problem is narrowing it down to the really important ones and then putting them in order of importance. To me they are ALL important. I have tried the "ABC" method ( airway,breathing etc.) Any advice from seasoned nurses or students would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks so much! :nurse:

I always thought of the ABC's first and Maslow's Hierarchy of Human Needs. Physiological needs always come first: breathing, food, water, sleep, excretion. Think of things needed for survival. Everything else comes after that....safety, love/belonging, esteem, self-actualization.

As you learn more and become more experienced, prioritizing needs will become much easier.

Specializes in Education, Acute, Med/Surg, Tele, etc.

There is a ton of posts about this in the student nursing forums (stickies) from nurses that have volunteered to help with RN Dx. I have even gone there to give my tricks of the trade on them by request!

Try looking there too :).