What's your typical day like as an OR nurse?

Specialties Operating Room

Published

Hi!

I'm a new grad and I'm considering applying for an OR job (yes, I actually found an OR posting that will consider new grads!). I've always been interested in surgery, but I'd like to know a little more about the OR nurse's duties:

What's your typical day like?

What hours do you work?

Is it challenging/interesting?

Is it stressful?

Do you like it?

How does it compare to med/surg?

What are the differences in duties of the scrub nurse and circulating nurse?

I appreciate any info you can give me so I have some idea what to expect before I apply for the job. Thanks bunches!

amy :nurse:

Specializes in surgical, emergency.

Amy.....let's see if this helps any.

What hours do you work?

Is it stressful?

Do you like it?

Now, keep in mind, I work in a small rural hospital with only 3 OR's, actually we have 6, but only use 3, sometimes 4 at a time, sooooo my views are different than a teaching hospital with 10 quadrillion rooms!!! :chuckle

That being said, you know the old saying hours of boredom interrupted with moments of sheer panic?? That's OR nursing.