How is MO???

U.S.A. Missouri

Published

Living in California for 16 years and traveling as an ER nurse along the West coast for one year now. I had enough of Cali... and West coast! Me and my wife (both of us RN's) where thinking about Missouri. We drove through when we went to my in laws in Pennsylvania. We fell in love with it. We want to start a new life in that part of the country. How is it there as a nurse? I do ER and my best half is a dialysis and PD RN. What areas do you recomend in the state? We like it in a city but we prefer a rural setting also. I heard Ozarks are magnificent... any advice?

I know, we are from Cali and have a "different" mentality... as some local Washingtonians said to me once. We promise that we are not going to complain about anything, if we move there... Can somebody give me an advice?

Specializes in NICU, High-Risk L&D, IBCLC.

Personally, I love it in Missouri! I am a senior-year nursing student so I can't tell you for certain how it is to be a nurse in Missouri, but just from clinicals in St. Louis area hospitals I would say that there are fabulous hospitals in that area with fabulous nurses in practice. The Ozarks are very beautiful! A definite upside to coming to Missouri is the ability to be close to a major city and still have rural areas around you. I live about 30 minutes south of St. Louis in a rural area but am still able to commute to St. Louis in minimal time with minimal traffic. It's great! The only negative thing I can say is that winters in Missouri are pretty dreadful, especially since we haven't been getting a lot of snowfall in the past few years. But I don't mind that too much because I love having the four seasons. I have lived in Southern California and I will take good ol' Missouri over Cali any day! Just my :twocents: ...

That sounds promising...I like that! Are there any other oppinions?