Interview Tips for the Older New Graduate

Nurses Nurse Beth

Published

Specializes in Tele, ICU, Staff Development.

Dear Nurse Beth,

I would love to have some interview tips for the older new graduate/RN? Preferably for the growing population of 50+.I have limited experience in the medical field and need to stand out among my younger peers. I also was surprised with a family late in life so I was a stay at home mom since 2002. This is really like my 1st career! Any advice on this dilemma would be greatly appreciated!

Dear 50 Plus,

This is a great question because many applicants believe there is age discrimination in the workplace.

The truth is that older candidates bring unique skills. Candidates with life experience know how to play well with others in the sandbox. They are typically reliable and definitely won't be taking lengthy maternity or baby bonding leaves.

Amazingly, some candidates shoot themselves in the foot by putting themselves down. Don't draw attention to your age and especially do not disparage yourself. Some older people tend to point out their age in a negative manner, such as remarking about their vision, or lack of tech skills. Sit up straight and project energy.

To stand out from other applicants, show that you are a savvy interviewer by weaving in your knowledge of the importance of improving patients satisfaction scores and reducing readmissions. These are issues and metrics that nurse managers are faced with on a daily basis. Very few new grad candidates will speak to these topics and by so doing, you will stand out.

Know what EHR platform the hospital is using, and speak to your experience with that platform (Cerner, Epic) if able.This will allay any concerns around your computer skills.

Stress that you have roots in the community if you have family, are married, or own a house. This will allay any concerns around being a flight risk.