Just a Nurse

This piece explores feelings around the "You're just a nurse" comments that one in the profession is sure to encounter. Nurses Announcements Archive

Published

When I tell someone I'm a nurse, I usually get a mixture of admiration, envy, and disparaging comments. I appreciate the admiration (though I don't ask for it) and I brush off the envy. Still, people think that being a nurse isn't good enough and that one should aspire to be a doctor. I try not to take it to heart, as often people making these types of comments are not aware of the intricacies of the medical field. Most are ignorant to healthcare as a whole. I had a friend who thought nurses in the infant nursery were "babysitting." I remember a well-meaning professor of mine who said that I was so "bright," why was I choosing to become a nurse? That conversation stays with me even to today.

I went to nursing school, now nearly eight years ago at the encouragement of a family member. My idea of medicine and health-care was limited to Grey's Anatomy and House. I had never stepped foot into a hospital before my clinical experience. It was vastly different than what I could have imagined. I suppose I thought nurses just took vitals and sat at the nursing station, telling patient's family members where to go. So often during clinical, I thought, "Why am I here? (and even today I still do think that sometimes). However, nursing school gave me agency, confidence, but most importantly hope that I could make a difference in a patient's life.

Just A Nurse

The "just a nurse" comments seemed to have trickled down. Perhaps due to social media, people are more aware of what nurses actually do vs. what they thought they did. Nursing as a whole is a well-respected career. However, the internet is rife with comment boards from the public and from professionals that desire to smear nurses. It seems to be from poor experiences or just pure vitriol.

Perception