Job Decision: Psych CM Management vs. Acute care?

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Specializes in Ambulatory Case Management, Clinic, Psychiatry.

I'm looking for advice/ideas about a job I am deciding whether or not to take. I haven't had a formal offer, but am expecting one later this wk.

The job is a Nurse manager/team leader position for a new case management program working to integrate primary care and behavioral health In Medicaid pts with mental illness. I would have a small caseload of clients and would supervise 1-3 nurses and 2-6 community health workers.

My background is mostly in psych (8 years); I have been doing outpatient clinic (mostly primary care) for the past 2.5 years.

The main hesitancy I have is that for years I have been thinking about doing acute care (medical) nursing and it would make the most sense to try it now, as my current job has direct pt care and is not psych. However, long term, I am not sure if hospital nursing would be a great fit for me; and I have read a lot of horror stories on here.

Long term I *think* I would like to go into quality management, patient safety or risk management. However, I have always wanted to try the ED and think I would enjoy the mental challenge of critical care. I am afraid I will always regret it if I don't try it now, and taking this job would make me less desirable for a hospital job.

Biggest Pros : I have worked for the agency before and really like it, I really like the woman who would be my manager/the program director; I would get exp w management and the opportunity for some exposure to data reporting/analysis, quality measures, and contract negotiation; it's a unique opportunity, lots of autonomy