CNA's in OB

Specialties Ob/Gyn

Published

Hi all! I am a pre-nursing student and am about to take a cna class this december and I was looking at job openings for cna's in my area and I noticed there was an opening for a cna in the OB/GYN department at one of the local hospitals. I was wondering if anyone could tell me what a cna's duties would consist of on the OB/GYN floor? Thank you!:confused:

Specializes in Specializes in L/D, newborn, GYN, LTC, Dialysis.

We do not use CNAs just scrub techs. The RNs do CNA duties--the scrubs do just scrub in for csections and desk/paperwork. I have found this to be true in all the places I have worked. Only the really BIG hospitals tend to use CNAs in OB.

A CNA would tend to be responsible for patient cares, such as, assisting to toilet,shower, ambulation, changing bed linens/gowns, passing meal trays, charting intake/output, taking vital signs on moms, and reporting condition changes to the RNs responsible for their overall care. They also tend to assemble chart packs/do paperwork/enter computer orders for doctors, etc and run specimens to lab. Especially if there is no unit secretary, the CNA may be splitting those duties w/the nurses on the unit, as well. (as above, entering computer orders and doing paperwork as well as answering phones). CNA involvement with newborn care is usually very limited to diaper changes and possibly taking vital signs.

Hope this helps???

Hey!