Surgery Coordinator vs RN

Nurses Career Support

Published

Hello Everyone,

A friend of mine that is a COO of a cosmetic surgery group in the Greater Los Angeles asked me if I would be interested in working for his company. The position would be a surgery coordinator and may have career advancements to some degree. Problem is I don't know anything about this field...

To give you a little background of myself and my current situation. I am a 42 year old male and have my own business in the commercial real estate brokerage industry. I have a BS degree in Business Administration. I have been in sales since my college days 24 years ago. The reason I'm exploring nursing is I really want to help others and place a smile on their face, and also have some financial security. Currently, I am planning to attend WCU in August, 2018. My original plan is to work in the ER for 2-3 years before settling into something else (possibly attaining a MSN to become an NP or exploring the notion of becoming a traveling nurse so I can also sell residential real estate). I understand there are many career paths in nursing.

Does anyone have any insight or advice? My instinct tells me to stay the course for nursing, but I don't want to leave any opportunities out. Thank you.

Specializes in OR, Nursing Professional Development.