I'm not sure what route to take next? I feel lost.

Nurses Career Support

Published

I graduated from an associates RN program this past spring. I have started my BSN program this fall semester. I will haven the option to replace some of my BSN courses with General Nursing MSN courses in the spring semester. I originally thought I was headed in the right direction - get my BSN quickly and get the general entry MSN courses out of the way. Have a year off of school and just focus of my RN job. (The NP program requires at least 2 years of RN experience for admission). Then start the NP program. I began researching NPs. I'm not sure if there is a high enough demand for them. Also hospital positions state NP / PA...I'm not sure how that works or what that is exactly. If anything I'm now really confused. Also if anyone has experience, what is the NP school coursework like...I read a few articles that scared the life out of me. Some said it was way harder than Nursing school. I understand it would be hard but as long as it is manageable and I could still work at least part time. The reason I want to advance my career is because I know I cannot handle the physical aspects of being an RN forever and for financial support for my family. If anyone has any other career suggestions, they are welcome. I don't want to jump into the MSN courses next semester if I'm not going to end up becoming an NP. I appreciate any help and guidance, and someone to explain the whole NP / PA thing - like is there more education involved?

Specializes in Critical Care, Education.