Conestoga RPN Class Schedule Sample

World Canada CA Programs

Published

I have just accepted my offer to start the Conestoga RPN course this September 2014 and am super excited :up:

As a mature student I am very nervous about juggling my active children schedules and a full time course load... I have searched everywhere on the internet to try to get a sample schedule, but haven't had any luck...Could anyone please share with me what my life might look like course wise for the next two years??? thanks in advance

Specializes in Public Health.

Hi there, I just graduated from Conestoga last year! The next two years will be very busy (no matter what school you attend) but worth it!

Each semester I had class (or placement) 5 days/week, unfortunately I never got lucky enough to have a day off throughout the week! Not all are full days, some are shorter!

Each semester you will have a combination of classes (on campus), clinical (on campus, in the lab where you will be learning skills) and placement (off campus).

First Semester - for the first half of first semester you will have three days of class and two days of clinical. After seven weeks your clinical will be over and these days will switch to a placement at a long-term care facility from approximately 7 - 11 AM. During this semester you will learn the basics - normals/abnormals, anatomy and physiology of body systems, and skills like bed baths, taking vital signs and performing simple assessments like abdominal/respiratory.

Second semester - you will be in placement at a hospital (typically medicine/palliative floor or something similar) for the entire semester! You will attend classes and clinical for three days of the week and placement for the remaining two days. Placement is 6 hours and typically runs from 7 AM - 1 PM. You will begin to learn about diseases, more in depth skills such as wound care, catheter care and giving medications including oral and injections.