Lubbock Texas

Specialties NP

Published

Specializes in ER.

Anyone employed in this area? I am a new FNP grad and am moving there soon due to my spouse doing his fellowship there. I was looking at the potential job aspect. I would love to work in a hospital, but from what I have seen most of those positions are for acute care NPs.

Specializes in ER.

bump.

Specializes in Neonatal Nurse Practitioner.

An FNP is not a generalist like a PA. You are trained in primary care. Texas follows the consensus model. You can find detailed info regarding this on the NCSBN website. If you are trained in primary care, you are not trained to care for patients in an acute care setting. If you are set on want to work in an acute care setting, you should complete an acute care NP program.

In their latest quarterly newsletter pg. 2 (https://www.bon.texas.gov/pdfs/newsletter_pdfs/2018/July2018.pdf), they clarify that if you work in a specialty setting (like orthopedics), you may round on inpatients to care for the problems that they would have seen you for in the outpatient setting.

Specializes in ER.

I see many FNPs working in a hospital, and in the area I live at in my home state of TN, almost all NPs working in a hospital are FNPs. The news article also states that you can take care of patients outside of what you are trained to do in school and lists and example.

I see many FNPs working in a hospital, and in the area I live at in my home state of TN, almost all NPs working in a hospital are FNPs. The news article also states that you can take care of patients outside of what you are trained to do in school and lists and example.