Should I walk away from nursing or keep trying?

Nurses Career Support

Published

I'll try to keep this short but I need to know if there is hope at salvaging the career choice I made for myself. A little background: I am 24 years old. I graduated with my BSN nearly 2 years ago. I went to college straight out of high school with only 1 months worth of employment as a cashier at Dollar General. I quit in order to give my full attention to nursing school. I knew it wasn't going to be easy, I heard that all the time. Unfortunately for me, I didn't have any nurses in my family except my Nana. I went into nursing blind and hopeful that taking care of people was my calling.

Fast forward 2 years later and I'm questioning myself. I worked on a med surg/telemetry floor for 6 months. I absolutely hated it. So I moved and accepted a new job in a NICU that allowed me to live with my boyfriend while he finished school. I was ecstatic! Babies were why I initially went into nursing. The 1st few months were awesome. I looked forward to going to work everyday and I loved my preceptor. Then the reality set in. I was much happier at my new job compared to my old but I still felt hesitant. The anxiety of making a mistake, a code, or just dealing with a stressed out family affected me so much. I took work home with me. I resented being at work instead of spending christmas day with my family. Everything started to point out how I was not cut out for this.