Looking to start my RN career in Texas

U.S.A. Texas

Published

Hi all!

I am currently a nursing student in the state of Kansas and will graduate in December (2018) with my ADN- Im so excited and ready! I've had 8 years of healthcare experience total, so I'm ready to close this schooling chapter finally.

my question is, my husband and I are looking to move to Texas (dallas- ft. worth area) as soon as I pass boards (and get a job), is there anything different I should expect in regards to the different state? I've done some research and concluded that here in the Midwest, nurses make slightly less than those in Texas and living costs seem to be pretty constant with that of Kansas. I could be wrong, I guess I'm just wanting some insight from a nurses point of view that lives in the area. Any helpful suggestions/tips/facts, etc is very much welcomed!

thank you!

Specializes in Critical Care; Cardiac; Professional Development.

Congratulations on your upcoming graduation. This is a very exciting time and your plans are exciting for you as well. There are a few things you should know if you want to move to DFW as a new grad nurse.

The first is that DFW is oversaturated with new grad nurses. Most do find jobs, but not in their chosen specialty and not even necessarily in acute care. They also most frequently get hired only for night shift. I cannot stress hard enough that you should not move here until you have a written offer with wages spelled out and the start date.