Food for Thought for First Generation College Students (and Any College Student!)

I knew I wanted to be a nurse when I was about 16, but as a first-generation college student, I didn't quite know the steps. Here are some things, steps, and state of mind that helped me succeed and reach my goal. Nurses Announcements Archive

Updated:   Published

Specializes in School Nursing, Home Health.

My story is one that you hear often. My parents came to U.S to make a better life for themselves, found each other and then one day - BAM I was born.

Growing up my father always worked more than one job, and with his red tired eyes he would always say "Mija, tienes que estudiar, no hay nada mas" - Honey, you have to get an education, there is nothing else. So in my mind, there was nothing else. I was determined to get an education.

How To Achieve Your Goal In Becoming A Nurse

STEP 1 Be Determined and Stay that Way.

Ya gotta be determined, and stay. that.way.

It is the only way you will get the drive to finish. Nobody else is going to get this degree for you. My determination is what fueled my drive.

STEP 2 Be Malleable

When I took my first Biology test in my first semester in college I got a "D". A big, fat, dooming "D".

I went home and cried on my mom's bed while saying "I'm not meant to be a nurse! How can I pass all the other science classes if I can't even pass the prerequisite for the prerequisites!" But as you can guess, I didn't give up. Instead, I rose up to the challenge. I spent many days in the library studying. Or trying to study, since I didn't know how.

I started taking notes, using colored pens and highlighters, going over notes etc. I didn't just stay the same since you need to do something different to get different results.

In order to succeed, you need to be malleable - able to be changed, be flexible to reach your goal, but never break.

STEP 3 Use your Resources