Are there any combined BSN/CRNA programs?

Specialties CRNA

Published

I am a high school senior and I know I want to become a CRNA. I am a good student, and I am wondering if there are any CRNA schools which will guarantee me acceptance into the CRNA graduate program along with the BSN program. I have a friend who is doing this for a Physical Therapy degree, and another who is doing it to become a Pharmacist. Does anyone know about doing this to become a CRNA? Tracey

Tracey, I'm not a CRNA, so I may be wrong on this, but I do work in the O.R. It is my impression that you need a few years of nursing experience, preferably a mix of O.R. and critical care. So I would doubt that there are any direct programs like that out there. Even if there are, I think having that RN background before moving on up to CRNA is probably a good idea.

Hope this helps!

Emily

Tracee,

Although there are many combined BSN/MSN programs to become a Nurse Practitioner, I have only seen a few that segue from a BSN program directly into a MSNA program.

The programs that are combined like that are accelerated BSN / MSNA programs. Georgetown, Duke, and Columbia have accelerated programs that typically include 15 months of undergraduate work (for the BSN), 12 months of ICU work, then 24-30 months of MSNA work.

All three programs are looking at students who have received a BS or BA already. This is for students who graduated with something that wasn't necessarily conducive to going to nursing school (such as students who were pre-med, pre-pharm, pre-dent, pre-law, business, or almost anything that doesn't cover the basics necessary to get into nursing school).