Report in the pt's room?

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Specializes in Oncology.

Recently where I work as an RN we went from giving one to one verbal change of shift report at the nurses station, etc. (somewhere private), now we are told by administration it must be given at the pt's bedside and any info. that the pt. does not yet know or we don't want them to hear must be given outside the door. The problem is your standing there with a clipboard trying to write and alot of the nurses I think are uncomfortable with this and I feel I'm getting so little in report that I spend alot of time looking up important info I used to get in report. I have talked to my Boss twice to see if it would be okay to do the report the old way then introduce the oncoming nurse to all my patients, this was unacceptable. I just want to know does anyone else do report like this, any suggestions on how I could better adjust?:o

Specializes in Rehab.

Our administration started that line of cr*p too. Here's my thought: How is doing "walking" report or report outside the pt room (or inside the pt room.... our rooms are semiprivate) not a HIPAA volation? Anyone walking past, or visiting inside the room, or in the next bed over can hear what you're saying!!! I do not understand what the point is. I still do a discrete report like you mentioned, and then introduce the new nurse to all the pts.

I wish I had an answer, but at least know that I feel your pain!

Blessings,

Crystal

I'm in Australia and we do both. First we have the report in a room where every nurse makes notes on every patient. Then the nurse from the previous shift who had the patients you are looking after gives the report by the bedside. This is extra things like 'Here is Mr. Smith, I've put that type of dressing on his wound, as you can see, but you might need to change it. '

Specializes in Oncology.