Nursing Process Paper- pediatric "risk for" diagnosis- PLEASE HELP!

Nursing Students General Students

Published

Hello all,

I am a first year nursing student and am having quite the time with categorizing information in my nursing process paper. During class we were given a 4 year-old child's file which contained rather incomplete health history forms, physical exam forms,and health questionnaires filled out by the child's mother. The assignment is to categorize the information we gathered from the documents in a nursing process form with the headings:

Assessment, Norms/guidelines/ EBP for Assessment (also needed for planned action), Nurs.Diag., Client outcomes, Plan/Interventions, Evaluation.

I reviewed a 4.5 yr-old boy's file. In his health history form? ( can't remember for sure), "frequent otitis media with febrile seizures" was documented. Tx: "diazepam rectal gel", no mention of antibiotics or how many ear infections he has had. He has tubes in both ears and was "unable to screen" 9/07 & 10/07, but passed 4/08. Speech was documented as "understood by mother, difficult to understand by unfamiliar listener.

mother checked "yes" to engages in daily play, no reponse listed for frequency of colds

not anemic, food group servings all exceed rda's, fast food & soda rare

Last physical 11/07: height 38.75 in, 38.1 lbs BP= 80/150

The child lives with his mother & little bro., living below the federal poverty level.

My diagnosis (doesn't have to be highest priority): Risk for delayed speech and language development r/t otitis media.

Questions:

Subjective/objective data: is diet subjective? b/c mother reported and we can't measure?

Speech info- Subjective or objective?

Client Outcomes?

Plan Implementation- can I say something about needing more info?

Evaluations/Continuing Outcomes