The Role of the Legal Nurse Consultant

Specialties Legal

Published

Hello everyone:

Just recently developed an interest in Legal Nurse Consulting. I have been a nurse for 8 years now and work Neonatal ICU. I have also worked Pediatric Neurology. Anyway, I love what I do and don't plan to ever leave the bedside completely, but I do have an interest in the law and absolutely LOVE reading medical records/charts. Lets put it this way if I was locked up in a medical records department for a weekend I would be a very happy person :)

LNC looks like a great way to make some extra money someday and maybe back of on bedside nursing some. I have some questions.

1) Realistically what kind of person/personality does it take to be a LNC?

2) What are the general duties of a LNC?

3) Can you choose to specialize in one area of LNC such as OB/Neonatal?

4) What is the range of time that you may be working on a case? (Ex. one

week? 1 month? 6 months?)

5) Our their opportunities to shadow LNC's?

6) Our the training programs focused on medical law or is it law in general?

7) Is it realistic to be able to work from home?

8) In general do Attorney's and their staff respect LNC's?

I'm sure I could think of more questions, but I think I will stop now.

I know this is a lot of questions so thanks in advance :)

Specializes in Education, FP, LNC, Forensics, ED, OB.
Hello everyone:

Just recently developed an interest in Legal Nurse Consulting. I have been a nurse for 8 years now and work Neonatal ICU. I have also worked Pediatric Neurology. Anyway, I love what I do and don't plan to ever leave the bedside completely, but I do have an interest in the law and absolutely LOVE reading medical records/charts. Lets put it this way if I was locked up in a medical records department for a weekend I would be a very happy person :)

LNC looks like a great way to make some extra money someday and maybe back of on bedside nursing some. I have some questions.