What is the difference in the pay between Rn with AS or BS

Nursing Students ADN/BSN

Published

im going to college pretty soon and im attending a community college...im not planning to get my rn there, but i just want to know the differences between getting a rn with as and bs...general and money wise...my plan is just to finish community as soon as possible than transfer over to a state college and start my career there..i know going straight to a state college is better, but life isn't fair..transportating, money, etc...

I'm sure it varies among institutions, but speaking from my personal experience generally BS grads will have the potential to make more. I just finished a BSN program and the position I accepted is paying me the same as a AS grad. to start. When I questioned this, they said in a few years my salary would increase because I have a bachelor's degree where as someone with an associates would not be able to advance in pay at the rate of someone with a BS.

Also, don't knock going to a community college to get your preqs. and gen. eds. out of the way. Why pay more money to take the same class at a four year school? I did the same thing you are planning to do in relation to transferring and I have had no regrets and i saved cash. Best of luck to you!

Specializes in Medical and general practice now LTC.

:clrflwlcm:

Specializes in Med-Surg, Trauma, Ortho, Neuro, Cardiac.

Hi. Welcome to Allnurses.

There are many discussions on the advantages and disantages of ADN vs. BSN here.

Check this thread out: https://allnurses.com/forums/f283/adn-vs-bsn-pay-rn-127175.html