First Time Nursing Diagnosis

Nursing Students Student Assist

Published

Well I guess there really is a first time for everything. I have to write my first Nursing Diagnosis (actually 3 of them) from the info I gathered on my clinical pt. I have seven years of hospital experience- Ortho, MICU, Onc, EC. I am so use to medical diagnosis and the process of testing to arrive at those that I am having a very difficult time shifting my thinking to a NURSING diagnosis. It is not making sense to me. The more I read the more confused I get. This includes the two Nursing Diagnosis books I bought. Can someone give me an example of a senario with s/s and a complete nursing diagnosis? My pt was in for COPD exacerbation/ emphysema. She has all the textbook signs- ie wheezing, slight crackles, diminished lung sounds, clubbing, pursed breathing, HTN during crisis.... you get it.... the whole boat. She is from the inner city with "inner city" problems... low income etc. She fits Activity Intolerance, Deficient Knowledge, and Risk for Infection (on home O2, steroids, congested nonproductive cough.) I just don't get it. I know I can make this shift I just need to see some examples. I hope someone can help me out before I start to either get aggitated or just give up. Neither of those is that much fun. I will glady take ANY examples. Thank you to everyone in advance. wsustudent- detroit, mi:uhoh3:

your pt. is also a good candidate for the diagnosis of ineffective airway clearancce....if she's on home oxygen she obviously has some trouble getting o2 into her blood because of her COPD which by the way includes emphysema.... As far as an example I don't know what I can do to help you cause I'm not good at creating scenarios...sorry...Hope that helped you a little bit though cause that would be an easier one to do for you pt.

thank you. i will try that one. Ineffective Airway Clearance related to congested cough secondary to COPD exacerbation. Does that sound correct?