what steps do I need to take to become a flight nurse??

Specialties Flight

Published

Specializes in ER.

I am just curious about what steps I need to take ot become a flight nurse?? I was an adavanced EMT for a number of years, then an LPN, and now a RN in the ER. I have had this silly dream of being a flight nurse ever since my ambulance days when I had to call my first helicopter?? Any advice?? Jennifer

I am just curious about what steps I need to take ot become a flight nurse?? I was an adavanced EMT for a number of years, then an LPN, and now a RN in the ER. I have had this silly dream of being a flight nurse ever since my ambulance days when I had to call my first helicopter?? Any advice?? Jennifer

I too was wondering this. I know this sounds really stupid, but here goes anyway...i am terrified to DEATH of flying in an airplane, but I want to be a flight nurse one day :rotfl: go figure. When I did my clinicals last year, I had the chance to work with a flight crew at our hospital. Being there when they arrived, bringing the pt in, and being there when they took off was such an adrenaline rush. What they were doing was simply amazing and intense. For some odd reason I'm not afraid of going up in a chopper, but ABSOLUTELY REFUSE to get on an airplane. My dear hubby says I'm just warped that way...hmmmm :rolleyes:

Most programs require or prefer five years of clinical experience, ER and ICU.

Depending on whether the company does only inter-hospital transfers or trauma scene flights will offer more specifics to the type of training that they want and also which state. Some require a combination RN/EMT-P rating, others just the RN. And as many letters as possible after your name..... :)