Forced to Clock Out for Two Meal Breaks - Is This Legal?

An LPN night shift charge nurse is mandated by new management to clock out for two meal breaks. Who is in charge when she is off the clock? Nurses Career Support Article Magazine

Forced to Clock Out for Two Meal Breaks - Is This  Legal?

Dear Nurse Beth,

I work as an LPN night shift charge nurse at a nursing home on 12-hour shifts 6p-6a. I am always the only licensed staff in the building. Until recently when the facility was sold to new management, I have always been paid for all 12 hours, but now they are telling us that everyone MUST clock out for 30-minute breaks twice on 12-hour shifts, and will deduct them automatically even if we don't take breaks. They are demanding that night nurses do this as well, and will only pay for one of the two breaks if we turn in a missed break slip. But, is this legal?

I thought they were supposed to have nurse coverage on the floor 24/7... not 23/7??? Has something changed over the years that I am not aware of? Can someone please tell me I'm not crazy and that they are lying or violating some law..? I work in Minnesota. I've never been told it's the law that I have to take unpaid breaks and work off the clock.

Dear Is This Legal,

Minnesota Meal Breaks

Here is Minnesota's statute on meal breaks:

177.254 MANDATORY MEAL BREAK.

Subdivision 1.Meal break.

An employer must permit each employee who is working for eight or more consecutive hours sufficient time to eat a meal.

Subdivision 2.Payment not required.

Nothing in this section requires the employer to pay the employee during the meal break.

So this says it is the law to provide you with a meal break. The employer is not required to pay you during said meal break.