New LVN in desperate need of advice.

Nurses New Nurse

Published

Hello everyone,

I am questioning whether if I should even go further into this career.

Brief history, I graduated nursing school beginning of 2014 & passed my boards later in 2015 and it took me a year to find a job. Here I am, 2 years from my last clinical experience... I just got hired at an Assisted Living/Memory care to find out I'll be the only nurse in the building along with 2 med techs and CNA's. My nerves are out of whack right now. I know I am behind on my skills, I don't even know how the paper work goes, we were never taught any of that in my nursing school. I fear speaking with Doctors and not knowing what they're talking about.

I don't want my preceptor to find me annoying for asking so many questions and having blank moments from doing what should be a simple task because I have to think about it first due to the fear of making a mistake.

As of now, I'm trying my best to refresh my mind with all the necessary things I know I'll be dealing with working in AL/memory care.

But any advice? What should I do? What if I need more days of training.. what if I come across a med that I don't know much of.. How to deal with emergencies? falls? Transcribing new orders, MAR, documentation/charting and if you have worked or currently working at an AL, how does your day go?

Thank you so much for taking the time to read this, any advice will be greatly appreciated :'-)

Specializes in Critical Care, Education.

Congratulations on your new job.