Roll Call all Staff Developers Sign In Please

Specialties Educators

Published

:nurse: Hello all Staff Developers !

I found this sight today and have been having the most wonderful time on it.

My name is Cali. I work in California in a long term care facility that is also part of an acute hospital.

My duties are education, infection control, compliance issues, and of course anything else that has been cast to the side or anything else that I discover needs improvement.

I have been doing this for 3 1/2 years now. I really do enjoy it.

I think we should all use this bulletin board to network together and share thoughts, issues, concerns, lessons plans, material, self learning modules, & etc.

If you would like to start our own web ring so to speak then sign in on the roll call.

We can be very valuable to each other. There are many Long Term Care facilities and one of us in each building. Where are my peers?????

Hope to see you soon,

Cali

:) Hello calinurse. I have been SDC and Restorative Coordinator for approx. 1 year now. I create a % of my own inservices. Of course the compliance issues inservices are created by the company for the most part however, we are able to submit some of our own for our "as needed" and "specific" requirements. I use a lot of our vendors for inservices. They love to talk about their products and provide education with it.

The biggest problem I run into is getting the staff to attend the inservices. With the shortage and the constant revolving door with CNA's I have found it to be a challenge to get them into the inservices. Do you ever have that problem and if so what do you do?

I work in a LTC facility with 120 beds (we run with census around 117 most of the time). We have a lot of admissions and discharges. The company I work for is "for profit" so that should tell you the :( staffing pattern. Of course I also work for a company that allows only 1 educator per facility.