Trauma Nurse Specialist Course??

Specialties Emergency


Specializes in ER.

I was just wondering does your ED have a Trauma Nurse Specialist (TNS) course?? If so, is it open to all ER RNs or are there certain requirements?

Specializes in ER.

hi all,

I've just been thinknig about what direction I want to take my career. I know that as long as I'm a bedside RN, it will be in the ER (maybe I'll move to ICU at some point). Aside rom CEN (or CCRN) what other certifications do you guys hold??

Specializes in Critical Care, ED, Cath lab, CTPAC,Trauma.

you asked this about a year ago and got great answers.......first the cen and the ccrn are completely different specialties of nursing.....the ccrn specialty certification providing care to acutely and/or critically ill adult, pediatric and neonatal patients. nurses interested in this certification may work in specialty areas such as intensive care units, cardiac care units, combined icu/ccu, medical/surgical icus, trauma units or critical care transport/flight. it has the critical care aspect of nursing which includes invasive monitoring and treatnebt of the critical patient. ccrn frequently asked questions


welcome to bcen


welcome to bcen



welcome to bcen

[color=#28201d]at the time of application and examination bcen certifications require:

[color=#28201d]- [color=#28201d]a current, unrestricted rn license

[color=#28201d]- [color=#28201d]or a nursing certificate that is equivalent to a registered nurse in the united states or its territories[color=#28201d].

[color=#28201d]cpen specific

[color=#28201d]- [color=#28201d]cpen candidates are also required to have practiced at least 1,000* hours in pediatric emergency nursing practice in the past 24 months.

[color=#28201d]* the 1,000 hours in pediatric emergency practice may be obtained through practice in any urgent or emergent care setting and may include providing direct care, health care facilitation, education and advocacy for patients and families.

eligibility recommendation

  • two years of experience in related subspecialty.


  • any restriction, suspension, probation, or any order arising from a nursing license authority that limits a nurse’s ability to function and perform related tasks will disqualify a candidate to sit for the examination unless the candidate is a qualified individual with a disability who can function and perform all related tasks with or without reasonable accommodation. these candidates must submit in writing, to the bcen office, evidence of disability along with an application and documentation materials in order for consideration of eligibility.
  • a current stipulation or action against a candidate’s nursing license, but the candidate is permitted to perform all functions and related tasks, the candidate may be eligible to take the examination. these candidates must submit an official letter from the nursing license authority along with an application and documentation materials to the bcen office verifying that there are no limitations on their ability to perform all related nursing functions.



ena developed the emergency nursing pediatric course (enpc) to improve the care of the pediatric patient by increasing the knowledge, skill and confidence of the emergency nurse. this two day course provides core-level pediatric knowledge and psychomotor skills needed to care for pediatric patients in the emergency care setting. enpc is the only pediatric emergency nursing course written by pediatric nurse experts.


ena developed and implemented the trauma nursing core course (tncc) for national and international dissemination as a means of identifying a standardized body of trauma nursing knowledge. the tncc (provider) is a two day course designed to provide the learner with cognitive knowledge and psychomotor skills. the purpose of tncc is to present core-level knowledge, refine skills and build a firm foundation in trauma nursing.

courses & education

catn-ii - course in advanced trauma nursing has been retired. ena is currently developing a new program “advanced clinical education for emergency nurses” (aceen) to replace the catn course. it does not have a scheduled release date at this time

[color=#1122cc]specialty certifications in emergency nursing

if you know your doc well and they will let can audit the atls

the american college of surgeons (acs) and its committee on trauma (cot) have developed the advanced trauma life support (atls) program for doctors. this program provides systemic and concise training for the early care of trauma patients. the atls program provides participants with a safe, reliable method for immediate management of the injured patient and the basic knowledge necessary to:

  1. assess the patient’s condition rapidly and accurately.
  2. resuscitate and stabilize the patient according to priority.
  3. determine if the patient’s needs exceed a facility’s capacity.
  4. arrange appropriately for the patient’s inter-hospital transfer (who, what, when, and how).
  5. assure that optimum care is provided and that the level of care does not deteriorate at any point during the evaluation, resuscitation, or transfer process.

i hope this helps.

Specializes in Critical Care, ED, Cath lab, CTPAC,Trauma.

IDES: Trauma Nurse Specialist (TNS)

Which is for nurses in Illinois

The Illinois Trauma Nurse Specialist (TNS) Program

This course is a standardized program facilitated by TNS Course Coordinators (TNSCCs) at approximately 15 hospitals statewide. It is co-sponsored by the Illinois Department of Public Health Division of EMS and Highway Safety (IDPH). Designed for ICU/Emergency nurses, the program is presented at the graduate level focusing on the care of trauma patients across the continuum, including care in the prehospital, resuscitative, perioperative and intensive care phases with a strong emphasis on pathophysiology and multidisciplinary coordination.This 80 hour course generally meets once weekly, is offered in the fall and has limited seating. The cost is set by the TNSCC Committee and is standard throughout Illinois (generally $350.00). Sponsorship is required.Prerequisites

  • One year of experience as RN.

  • ACLS certification.

  • Current BLS certification.

Requirements for completion

  • Required attendance (minimum of two absences).

  • Successful completion of practical exam.

  • Successful completion of State Exam (80% pass rate on two attempts).


Then there are advanced degree specialties....Trauma, Critical Care, and Emergency Nursing: A Blended Clinical Nurse Specialist and Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Program.

This specialty prepares nurse clinicians to provide advanced nursing care across the continuum of acute care services. The specialty incorporates coursework, laboratory, and clinical experiences in a variety of acute care settings. Graduates are eligible to sit for the Acute Care Nurse Practitioner examination offered by the American Nurses Credentialing Center and by the American Association of Critical Care Nurses. Graduates are also eligible to take the Critical Care Clinical Nurse Specialist certification examination offered by the American Association of Critical Care Nurses. Web-based courses may be available. Full-time, part-time, and post-master's (non-degree) options are available.

Trauma, Critical Care, and Emergency Nursing: A Blended Clinical Nurse Specialist and Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Program | University of Maryland School of Nursing

+ Add a Comment