Depression and Naltrexone

Nurses Recovery

Published

I'm going to try to keep this brief. I'm in my second year of monitoring and getting ready to finish my first year working at my present job. I have a massive commute, but I only work 2 days a week. And frankly, with my history, I was lucky to find a job. I work in a psych hospital in the medical detox unit.

The thing is...I hate it. Hate it so bad. I mean, since I'm an addict, you would think I would have more patience for the population, but I have never worked with a more difficult patient population in my life. Foul language, abusive behaviors, bad attitudes, and behavioral codes for throwing crap all over, for say, getting the wrong meal tray. Fist fights, body checks, you name it. I'm very sensitive in general to conflict, so I feel like I shake internally the entire shift.

And to make matters worse, 2 of the most senior nurses on my shift are hell bent, out to throw me under the bus. I get nit picked and turned in to management for EVERYTHING. I brought a patient his pills in bed because he was withdrawing hard and I got reamed for "hindering his recovery" by not forcing him to be independant and come to the med station. See, I've been thru withdrawals and when you are pouring lava out your bum hole and vomiting while you are pooping, it's nice if someone brings you your pills. Silly crap like that.

I told my director about it, and she says it's jealousy based because several months ago I won an award from the CEO for excellence in patient care, complete with a ceremony on the unit. She and the clinical coordinator say they are very aware of the problem and are working on it. Honestly, that is nice to hear. But between the coworker issue and the patient population, I fantasize about transferring back to medical.