First Day Jitters

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Tomorrow will be my first day as an RN on busy medicine unit. This is my very first hospital job. I have been working as a RN at a LTC for a year after graduation. To say I'm nervous would be an understatement. I am scared, petrified and thinking of already calling in sick. I know every new grad and other nurses go through this on there first day but I still can't help feel overwhelmed. In my opinion what didn't help was the lack of orientation. I only had 5 days of orientation. I did ask for more, however, they only granted me one more day of orientation. What makes it worse is that it is schedule in between my already scheduled regular shifts, which I found confusing and weird. Like should I not complete my orientation shift before i start on my own. I'm so scared that I will make mistakes and harm a patient. Also as a new nurse I am not yet allowed to do blood draws, start IVs and other things. I do not want to burden my co-workers by asking them to do things that I cannot do nor do I want them to think I'm incompetent. I can already feel my anxiety going through the roof and I have a feeling that I will not be getting much sleep tonight. To help me organize my day, I have made a brain sheet but I still feel extremely nervous and scared. Does anyone have tips on how I can be calm and make it through the day. Other advice would be greatly appreciated.

Specializes in Neuroscience.

A whole 5 days of orientation? I'd be nervous too.

Just take everything one step at a time and ask for help when you need it. Your previous experience in LTC should help with time management. Try to get some good rest tonight, a good meal before you go in, and do your best. Best wishes on your new job!

A whole 5 days of orientation? I'd be nervous too.