Time Management

Nursing Students General Students

Published

Hey guys,

Is anybody willing to share how they managed their time during nursing school? I am currently in 3rd semester (out of 4, almost there!!) and school is taking up all of my time. I know it's busy, I understand the need to set aside time and study, etc. But, I don't believe that nursing school has to CONSUME your life as it is doing right now. How did you balance school and life? How did you manage your study time?

Thank you!

I think its individualized as to what works for you... but that being said, I do feel consumed mentally by nursing school but I have other obligations so it can't be the only thing I do. I work 25-30 hours a week and have 2 kids, some of my classmates do spend 10-20 hours on a weekend studying but I just can't do that. You have to figure out how to study effectively based on how you learn.

For me, making flashcards takes me a million years and I don't feel that I learn great that way, so I don't do them. I am a fast reader so I read the assigned reading ahead of lecture, if I have time I will make a concept map or study sheet on the topic ahead of time and add to it during lecture. I take notes during lecture and pay attention. I find that a lot of people in my class talk to other students or are always looking at their phones in class, you want to try to make good use of that time since you have to be there. Then afterwards I make a study sheet of the most important concepts. Get yourself a mental system and do each topic the same way- like "Patho", "Labs/Diagnostics", "Manifestations", "Nursing Interventions", "Meds" etc. for each topic and fill in the boxes with the most important stuff. If you don't have time to read everything assigned, read the key points at the end of the chapter, read any call out boxes or safety alerts and take any available quiz that the book has for the end of the chapter. Then just go back and read the paragraphs on what you didn't understand.