ASN F/T with children

  1. Hi, I am Lisa and just wnted to introduce myself. I am 32 years old with 4 kids (12,10,9,5) and a husband. I have been fortunate enough to find a ASN program that will allow me to omplete my pre-reqs along with the nursing courses. The whole program is 2 years full time. I am going to give it my best shot. I am currently not working, but I was thinking of maybe working at a local hospital part time.
    I am glad that I found this site, Nice to see many people working together on something that is so important, I hope to make some good friends on here
  2. Visit Lisa1970 profile page

    About Lisa1970

    Joined: Dec '01; Posts: 196
    Nursing Tech local hospital


  3. by   StudentSandra
    Congrats Lisa. Taking the nursing and support classes at the same time is a challenge, tho I'm sure you can do it. With 4 kids and taking the entire program in 2 years, I wouldn't work even part time if I didn't have to financially. E-mail or PM me if you would like to chat.

    Your hubby MUST be supportive.
    Take out is your friend.
    Dust will not kill you.

    BTW - Is that Goshen up by MI or over by Louisville?
  4. by   babynursewannab
    StudentSandra hit it on the nose! LET THE HOUSE TAKE CARE OF ITSELF!!!

    Also, in your situation, don't work if you don't have to!!!

    Classes will be hard enough. I really understand your desire to jump in with both feet and keep your momentum up by getting into the field asap. But, you need to know how school will affect you first.

    I'm a Mommy of 2, divorced a month ago, but was married for the first 2 1/2 yrs of school, working part-time (necessity) full-time nursing student and it's hard enough for me.

    Good luck! You can do it!
  5. by   maire
    Many newcomers lately! This board is a wonderful source of information and encouragement. Good luck to you, Lisa!
  6. by   Lisa1970
    studentsandra, I am In Goshen IN. We are on the Michigan line.

    I think I will reconsider working. My mom owns a cleaning company. Maby I will just pick up something with her and work on just Sat or something.

    babynursewannab Where do you live?