daily duties

Specialties NICU

Published

Hello, i am currently a nursing student who is currently exploring my options upon graduation. It would be greatly apprieciated if anyone could describe their daily duties on their typical shift? For anyone who went straight to Nicu from nursing school, how was the transition and starting pay? Thanks!

Specializes in NICU, PICU, educator.

New grads make what the hospital offers new grads. New grads usually transition easily...they have a clean slate LOL

A typical day depends on the unit, if you are in charge, on transport or have admits. Eves usually is visitor central, so you have to plan your activity around visitors. We come on at 3p, get bedside report, check orders, get out formulas for first feeds, sometimes do a bath at 4p if you have a Q2 hour kid, then from there you usually have a couple of Q3 kids that need to eat for 5p, maybe only one, and then the other will need to eat at 6p. Factor in parent teaching, baths, etc. Dinner is when you are in a lull. Then back to square one for the next 4-8 hours. Not a lot of down time usually. Then around 9p our HAL's come up, we check and hang those, start our charting, stock bedspaces and give report to the on coming nurse if we leave at 11p, otherwise you con't on until 3a. Sometimes you have admits, so you are taken away from those kids, admit someone, usually keep that kid and give up another to someone else, do all that paperwork and pick up where you need to on the other kids. On transport, if you get called, you hand off those kids to whomever is assigned to take them, get your transport stuff together, head out, come back usually a few hours from then, if the kid is for our unit then we hand it off, do all the paperwork, and then pick up the kids we had before.

There is no set routine as you can see LOL

Specializes in NICU.