Relevant math review

Nursing Students Student Assist

Published

Hello!

I am a very eager pre-nursing student finishing up the last of my pre-reqs before I start the nursing program.

Math is not my strongest area. I did okay in algebra in high school, but that has been quite a while ago now! I would love it if it some of you old pro nurses out there could help me with a few things:

1. What is the most nursing-relevant area of math that I should review? Fractions? Algebra? I am not sure what to look at.

2. Are there any really great textbooks or websites that you would recommend that deal with math in nursing, or just math review in general?

3. I am considering putting off my chemistry one more quarter and taking an algebra review course before I tackle the chemistry. Would you recommend that?

Thank you so much!

First, are you wanting relevant math pertaining to nursing classes? Or relevant math for your pre-req math classes you still need to finish? For instance, the highest math class I had to take for my BSN was waaaaaay harder than ANY of the math in my nursing classes. As far as chemistry goes, just know dimensional analysis and I think you'll be just fine. If you want to prep yourself for math you'll see in nursing classes, you could buy a book specifically for that. Check with the school you applied to and see what book they are using. The book we use is a workbook type Dosage Calculations book (Pickar I think is the author...).

Hope that helps steer you in the right direction!

~J

Specializes in med/surg, telemetry, IV therapy, mgmt.