preparing for accelerated MSN, does anyone have advice for me? I have a Bachelor's

U.S.A. California

Published

degree in rhetoric from UCB and really want to go into nursing. I'm preparing for UCSF's accelerated master's program (NP) right now. I'm taking physio and doing really well, still, I'm nervous that I won't get into any schools in the area.

Among my questions-

should I take the 5 unit anatomy class at Merritt comm. college next smester as opposed to the 4 unit class? UCSF recommends the most rigorous class, but I have to take basic bio as a prereq. for anatomy and would rather not spend more time taking classes than I need to. Is this a bad approach?

At application time I will only have roughly a year of volunteer experience in a hospital care setting? Is this a good amount of time under my belt?

Is there any adivce anyone can give to me, a bright 33 year-old woman with a big heart but not tons of experience in the field? Are there any other programs one would recommend to me, or paths I should look into? Thank you so much!

Specializes in mostly in the basement.

Hi,

I was in your position not terribly long ago--sans the UCB degree--go CSUN!!!! Anyway, I actually did most of my pre-reqs. at college of Alameda and Merrit and I took the four unit class----this was only a few years ago and i don't recall there being a 5 unit option. What is additionally covered? Would need to know that before really answering. Off the top i would say it probably doesn't make much of a difference and more important to take a manageable load where you can get all A's.