Trauma Levels

  1. Greetings,
    I am trying to locate the data to support what would be seen at a Level I/II/III trauma center. I know level I is the most serious in nature. I am looking to find the breakdown of what each level would be involved in.
  2. Visit alet3ff profile page

    About alet3ff

    Joined: Sep '02; Posts: 42
    Fire Chief


  3. by   2ndCareerRN
    In Colorado there is a 5 level system. All trauma can go to lower levels, they will be stabalized and transported to nearest appropriate level.

    Level I facilities provide care for the most severely injured patient. They must have a trauma team (with a neurosurgeon, cardiothoracic surgeon, and subspecialty care providers) in house around the clock. Level I hospitals must demonstrate commitment to public education and outreach programs and perform trauma research. There are currently three Level I centers in the state of Colorado: Denver Health Medical Center, St. Anthony's Central and Children's Hospital which is a pediatric trauma center.

    Level II is similar to a Level I designation with the exception of research. Level II provides an on-call trauma team with 24-hour physicians. The big difference here from level I is that the trauma surgeons are not in house 24/7. Our doc has 20 minutes to arrive once called.

    Level III facilities must have a full-time trauma team on-call around the clock. They are not required to provide comprehensive services through subspecialty units and are not required to provide neurosurgical care. Level III trauma centers can provide prompt assessment, resuscitation, emergency surgery, and stabilization. They also arrange for transfers to a facility that can provide more specialized trauma care.

    Level IV facilities have physicians but may not have surgeons on staff. These facilities resuscitate, stabilize, and transfer patients requiring a higher level of care, based upon patient triage practices within each facility and state guidelines.

    Level V facilities rules are not yet complete. Currently, Level V facilities receive and are accountable for injured persons, but are not likely to be open 24-hours a day. Accountability will include transfer agreements to transport patients to Level I to Level III facilities as appropriate.

    Other states may be different, I am not sure. Most states will use a 5 level system, although they may not have centers designated down to level 5.

  4. by   alet3ff
    Thanks for the reply. Using the pdf file you linked to allowed me to check on trauma centers in Washington state. My wife and I will be moving to WA state in a couple of years and want to look for jobs at level I/II centers.
  5. by   2ndCareerRN

    There is only 1 Level One in WA, it is harbor view hospital in Seattle.

    But, there are plenty of level two's. We have two here in Spokane. We alternate the trauma duty weekly. Deaconess medical center is one, and Sacred Heart is the other.

    There is also a level two in Yakima. Another level two in Wenatchee and several more throughout the state.
    So, If you are willing to do a level two, you will have a choice of areas to relocate to.

    I presently live in Spokane, but am thinking of taking a travel assignment to Seattle.

  6. by   alet3ff
    That is what I figured... I may even choose a level III to be in the area I wish to be. My wife wants to be near Seattle but across the sound. I am looking at the Silverdale area for some land for horses and a job at the local ER or med/surg.
    Any ideas of where I could find a list of starting wages for a new RN?