My Family Thinks I'm Crazy

Nurses Nurse Beth

Published

Specializes in Tele, ICU, Staff Development.

Dear Nurse Beth,

I want to just let you know how much I appreciate your insights and dedication to this forum.

I am really struggling with making a decision about what to do with my life right now. I am applying to a few online nurse practitioner programs. I have been a nurse for 13 years and acquired my bachelor's degree immediately. Although my nursing career has not gone as I would have expected it due to my mother getting ill and some other hiccups that occurred. I stayed home when I had a son 7 years ago and have yet to return to full-time employment successfully.

I think I am maybe either just bored or I need to go to school and kind of hit that reset button for life. I have multiple ideas of what I would like to do as a nurse practitioner. I'm interested in doing home health or psych as well as Women' s Health.

My son's father left me about a year-and-a-half ago for another woman. This caused severe emotional pain as well as severe financial pain. My son is just starting first grade and I think I would be making a good decision by attending school.

I definitely don't have the confidence I used to and have experienced extreme bullying in the workforce. I like a lot of aspects of nursing but feel that it is worthwhile to attempt to get my grad degree as a nurse practitioner or even educator. Here is my problem.

My family thinks I'm crazy. They don't understand why I would go back to school for this degree when I could get a good paying job.