Organizational Tips for the Freelance Writer

Freelance writing can be overwhelming. These steps will help you organize your business. Once you gain business clarity, you can take steps to level up in your biz. Nurses Announcements Archive

Published

Specializes in Nurse Health Writer / Author.

Starting the world of freelance writing can be overwhelming. When you land your first client, you are alone in the celebration if you are not a part of a community. As you continue to gain clients, you may feel disorganized, and a constant overwhelm.

How Writers Can Stay Organized

STEP 1 Start with a space and a computer

When starting your journey as a freelance writer, I urge you to start with a quiet space and a computer. A quiet space gives you a place to become inspired, and within the space, your mind will know it is time to work. The traveling laptop is tough because you don't have a place to keep it. Try to create a space, even if it is a corner desk in a room. This will keep your mindset as work.

STEP 2 Organize with Google Drive

I recommend to organize your clients and projects with Google Drive. I have tried a variety of tools like Dropbox, Asana, Trello, and I keep going back to Google Drive. It has the capacity to hold a lot of projects and information, so you don't run out of space.

The number one reason I like it is because it is accessible on any device. I can go to the library computer and work on a project, or switch from my Ipad to my laptop. It is very convenient, and best of all, it's free!

TIP: Google Drive is capable to create folders for different clients or projects, as well as the ability to save documents as Word docs or PDF files. You can also make presentations on Google Slides, surveys with Google Forms, and spreadsheets with Google Sheets. The possibilities are endless!

STEP 3 Planner to PLAN