Will My PhD Hurt My Nursing Career?

Nurses Nurse Beth

Published

Specializes in Tele, ICU, Staff Development.

Hello Nurse Beth,

My name is Gertrude and I got my BSN in 2008 and passed the NCLEX in 2009. I however came out of nursing and went on to graduate school to get a PhD in Microbiology & Immunology which I completed in 2015.

I have not renewed my license since 2013 and I am currently in the process of getting it reinstated.

Having taking a break for so long and given that I am currently working as a researcher in the biomedical sciences, what's the best way for me to re-enter the profession ?

Will potential nurse managers be intimidated that I have a PhD (this is actually a real concern I have - being turned down because I may be seen as "over-educated").

Any and all advice is welcome! Thank you.

Dear Will My PhD Hurt my Nursing Career?

Allow me to re-cap. You are a researcher with a PhD in Microbiology and Immunology who graduated as an RN in 2008 and has no nursing experience.

Your challenge in landing an RN job is that you do not have experience as an RN and you also do not have new grad” status in terms of qualifying for a new grad residency or transition to practice program. Most employers specify that eligibility for new grad programs include having graduated in the last twelve months or even less.

It will take perseverance on your part to land an entry level nursing job. Be prepared to apply and then apply some more. When you land interviews, you will be asked Tell me about graduating as a nurse in 2008 and then changing careers” and How can we be sure you will not change your mind?” as well as How do you plan to use your PhD in the future?”

Consider being an employer and interviewing a candidate with your qualifications, including your PhD. What questions would you ask? These are the questions to prepare for.