Nurses Needed to Visit Senators and Attend Committee Meeting Regarding HB 823: Oct 23

  1. Nurses Needed to Visit Senators and Attend Committee Meeting Regarding HB 823

    The Senate Consumer Protection & Professional Licensure Committee is planning to review House Bill 823 at a committee meeting being held on Tuesday, October 23 at 9:30 AM in room 8 E in the East Wing of the capitol building in Harrisburg. PSNA's lobbyist is urging nurses to meet with members of the Consumer Protection & Professional Licensure Committee prior to the committee meeting and then to attend the meeting. Constituents of these Senators would be particularly powerful. This show of support from
    nurses will help lead to a favorable action by the committee. PANS strongly opposes this legislation. PSNA's lobbyist will be available that morning to assist nurses who want to have their voice heard!

    HB 823 has already been passed by the House and will go before the full Senate for a vote if it is passed by the committee. PSNA urges all nurses to not let this happen, as this bill will impede the practice of CRNA's in the state. This bill, if enacted,
    would negatively impact small, rural and underserved areas. The bill would also put responsibility for promulgating regulations defining medical practice under the State Board of Medicine. After struggling 20 plus years to have the joint boards (Nursing
    and Medicine) promulgate regs enabling CRNPs to prescribe, there is reason to believe this scenario could be repeated.

    If you are interested in meeting with members of the committee and/or attend the committee meeting please contact Lori Anne Artz at laartz@psna.org or call 1-888-707-7762, ext. 208. If you can not attend please contact members of the Senate Consumer
    Protection & Professional Licensure Committee and urge them to NOT support this legislation. More information...
    http://www.psna.org/hotissues/crnabill.htm

    Urgent Push Needed to Obtain Co-Sponsors for CRNP Legislation

    The following Senators have not yet agreed to co-sponsor the CRNP bill in the Senate which will grant the Board of Nursing sole authority over CRNPs. This will likely be referred to the Senate Consumer Protection and Professional Licensure Committee after it is introduced. If you are a constituent of one of these Senators please contact him/her and urge them to co-sponsor this very important piece of nursing legislation. The following Senators are members of the Senate Consumer Protection and Professional Licensure Committee.

    Charlie Dent (R-Lehigh)
    Vice Chairman of Committee
    Email: cdent@pasen.gov
    Phone: 717-787-1349

    Tommy Tomlinson (R-Bucks)
    Email: rtomlinson@pasen.gov
    Phone: (717) 787-5072

    Clarence Bell (R-Delaware)
    Chairman of the Committee and not likely to co-sponsor
    Email: cbell@pasen.gov
    Phone: (717) 787-4712

    Stewart Greenleaf (R-Montco)
    Email: sgreenleaf@pasen.gov
    Phone: (717) 787-6599

    Vince Fumo (D-Phila)
    Email: Senator_Fumo@fumo.com
    Phone: (717) 787-5662

    The following Representatives have NOT yet agreed to co-sponsor a CRNP companion bill in the House. After introduction this bill will likely be referred to the House Professional Licensure Committee. If you are a constituent of one of these
    Representatives please contact him/her and urge them to co-sponsor this very important piece of nursing legislation.

    Republicans

    Mario Civera, (R-164)--Deleware Chair of Committee
    mcivera@pahousegop.com
    Bob Allen (R-125)--Schuylkill
    ballen@pahousegop.com
    Kerry Benninghoff (R-171)--Centre, Mifflin
    kbenning@pahousegop.com
    Craig Dally (R-138)--Monroe, Northhampton
    cdally@pahousegop.com
    Russ Fairchild (R-85)--Union,Snyder
    rfairchi@pahousegop.com
    Julie Harhart (R-183)--Northampton/Lehigh
    jharhart@pahousegop.com
    John Lawless (R-150)--Montco
    jlawless@pahousegop.com
    John Maher (R-40)--Allegheny/Washington
    jmaher@pahousegop.com
    Sandra Major (R-111)-Susquehanna/Wyoming/Sullivan
    smajor@pahousegop.com
    Jerry Nailor (R-88)--Cumberland
    jnailor@pahousegop.com

    Democrats

    Bill Reiger (D-179)--Phila Chair of the Committee
    wreiger@pahouse.net
    Harry Readshaw (D-36)--Allegheny
    hreadsha@pahouse.net
    Bill Keller (D-184)--Phila
    wkeller@pahouse.net
    Susan Laughlin (D-16)--Beaver/Allegheny
    slaughli@pahouse.net
    David Mayernik (D-29)--Allegheny
    dmayerni@pahouse.net
    Tom Scrimenti (D-4)--Erie
    tscrimen@pahouse.net
    Steve Stetler (D-95)--York
    ssteler@pahouse.net
    John Wancasz (D-114)--Lackawanna
    jwansacz@pahouse.net
    Tom Yewcic (D-72)--Cambria/Somerset
    tyewcic@pahouse.net
    •  
  2. 2 Comments

  3. by   Mijourney
    Hi. I didn't get a chance to actively participate in this. What happened? Did it pass?
  4. by   NRSKarenRN
    hb 823 tabled, pending further information

    house bill 823 was tabled by senator jeffery e. piccola during a meeting of the senate consumer protection & professional licensure committee held on tuesday, october 23, 2001. it is now at the discretion of the committee's chair senator clarence d. bell to hold possible hearings to gather more information concerning the legislation. psna is grateful to all of the nurses all of the state who wrote letters, sent faxes and emails, or made phone calls to members of this committee. psna also thanks the
    nurses who attended the meet with members of the committee and/or attended the committee meeting. your voice was heard! while this is not the end for hb 823 it is a step in the right direction!

    thanks to all the nurses who called and wrote!

close