Peace Corps and Nursing?

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Has anyone ever joined the Peace Corps? This is something that I am 99% sure I want to do, I have been wanting to do this ever since I can remember and part of the reason I want to do nursing. I have a huge passion for volunteering and I would love to do this. I would have to devote over 2 years being overseas and it could be anywhere so I am worried about how this would look on a resume. Obviously I would say I was in (name of country here) with the Peace Corps, but I am worried how they would look at this on a resume. I wouldn't be practicing nursing in a hospital setting at all, and it would be VERY different. I am afraid that even after a nursing refresher course I would have trouble finding a job. I don't want to be completely lost once I find a job because it has been so long since I learned this stuff! My plan would be to graduate (4 years, I'm a freshman nursing major) then take the NCLEX, and leave after I am an RN. Would it be recommended that I work in a hospital setting for a while before leaving, or would it not even be a problem? Anyone who has actually done this it would be so helpful for a PM or a reply, but if anyone else has any advice at all I would be so grateful :) Like I said I have 4 years, which is a lot of time to think it over, but it goes quickly! Thank you all!
Specializes in Acute Care Psych, DNP Student.

Have you thought of Doctors Without Borders/Médecins Sans Frontières? You could volunteer as a nurse and do actual nursing work. So your nursing skills wouldn't atrophy.

Where ever you volunteer - Peace Corps or otherwise, nobody is going to take you without at least a year of hospital nursing experience. These volunteer organizations need experienced people who can hit the ground running without alot of resources or help.