Revamp my Resume

Nurses Nurse Beth

Published

Specializes in Tele, ICU, Staff Development.

Dear Nurse Beth,

I am a nurse with 9 plus years experience (6 med/surg, 3+ ambulatory surgery). I have read your book, but I am still having trouble revamping my resume. I am looking to pursue non-clinical nursing such as case management but I am finding it difficult to make my current job stand out amongst the crowd.

Taking pre-op histories, medications, NPO status, pre/post op medication education, equipment education, assessments and interventions doesn't quite stand out compared to those who have experience. Even our quality/patient satisfaction efforts are a group unit effort. What suggestions do you have to make what I do sound better? Thank you in advance.

Dear Revamp my Resume,

Leave off the pre-op histories, medications, NPO status and other tasks. You are correct and as I strongly emphasize in my book, they do not help you to stand out as they are a given.

Nursing duties make for an uninteresting and cookie-cutter resume.

Here are some tips to help you stand out. They are all included in the book, and more.

During your 9 years, what gains did your facility make that you were part of? Here's some examples to jog your memory and get you brainstorming:

• Participated in successful Quiet-at-Night to improve patient satisfaction scores
  • Active in initiating white boards, hourly rounding
  • How about you as an individual? Are your presenting yourself as a solution to their problems (key). How about:

• Perfect attendance times X years. That stands out!
    • Preceptor to 20 new employees
    • Served or chaired UBC (or nursing committee)
    • Voted Employee of the Month
    • Received multiple letters from patients
    • Proficient in Epic (Medi-tech, Cerner)
    • Trained in AIDET

[*]Are you following the tips in Chapter 8 to:

• Use keywords from job descriptions
    • Customize each application
    • Avoid cliches