Not having much luck finding a new grad position

Nurses Career Support

Published

What's the secret? I finished school in December took the NCLEX and passed on the first try. Next step finding a job! I started applying for L&D jobs back in early April. Since many hospitals don't hire new grads I focused on positions that stated experience preferred but not required. This will be a second career for me and I'm very interested in going into L&D but have applied for nursery, postpartum and NICU just to get in the door. I haven't even gotten one response. I've been told L&D is hard to get into but also that this time of year is good for new grads to get hired. I've also been told I should start in Med-surg for at least a year. I have been working as an aid on a Med-surg floor for over a year and really don't want to do that. Does it just take awhile for hospitals to review all the applicants or should I revamp my resume so that I don't reveal that I'm an older nurse? I'm almost 40. Any feedback would be appreciated! TIA

Specializes in Nursing Professional Development.

You need to widen your focus. Don't limit yourself to the maternal-child units as they are some of the most popular units and the competition for those positions can be fierce. You may not want to do it, but you may have to work adult med/surg or even LTC for a while to get yourself established as a nurse before those popular jobs become available to you.

Also, you didn't say: Do you have a BSN or an ADN? In some job markets, the most popular units and most popular employers can pick between lots of applicants -- and may choose to only consider BSN's.

It sounds to me as if you are limiting your possibilities too much.