NOT a new grad applying to ICU :-P

Nurses Career Support

Published

Hi Friends! Allow me to start with this is NOT a post about a new-grad trying to get into the ICU - lol. Not that there is anything wrong with new grads seeking advice, but when I searched for threads similar to my post, it was flooded with "new grad ICU" hits.

This is my first time actually posting to allnurses. I've mostly participated from afar, but I am finding myself in need of some experienced nursing advice. My husband and I will be relocating to a new state in a few months and I'm looking at applying to the hospitals there.

I'm currently working at a Level 1 Trauma Center in a surgical-trauma stepdown unit. This is my first nursing job, and I've been here for 15 months. I love the patient population and I don't really desire leaving trauma. My current career plan was to transfer to our trauma ICU when I hit 18 months, but with this unforeseen move coming up, it looks like I won't be gaining any ICU experience before we leave. Many of our patients are MVC/MCCs, GSWs, assaults and falls, and we also take lots of neuro and medical overflow. Our step-down criteria includes intubated patients & trachs, stable vents, insulin gtts, heparin gtt, we can manage one pressor, precedex/propofol/fentanyl gtts, chest tubes, drains & wound VACs, art lines, and ortho equipment like external fixation and traction. Our ratios are 3:1 and we usually have some pretty sick patients that could very well warrant being in the ICU. Most of my shifts I am charge with a patient. I feel that I am at a place where I am competent with the care of my current patient population and am ready to advance to the challenge of the trauma ICU.